Jingle Belles #2…It’s a good thing I’m a hoarder.

If you know me at all, you should be shocked that I made it all the way to the second week of this 48 week challenge hosted by the lovely ladies over at Jingle Belles. Now three may be pushing it, but we shall see.

This week’s challenge was to use our inchies. And I was all like “Inchies? Twinchies? What the…?” To be honest, I had never heard that phrase. It is not used in Stampin’ Up lingo. And apparently, I didn’t read the post all that well because it does show exactly what they are.  And then I read that you could use your one inch punches, or, God forbid, even trim paper to an inch.

So I had an idea in my head and as soon as I got home from work last night I hopped on up to the craft disaster area room and got to work. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that I did not own a 1″ square punch! And the stamp set I thought I could use (Cute by the Inch) did not feature a single Christmas stamp! And not a single other  current stamp set fit what I wanted to do, now that I would be forced to use a round punch.

This is where my hoarding comes in handy for the second week in the row. Off into my retired closet I went, looking for the perfect circle stamp set. I used Deer Friends, which I am pretty sure was a hostess set a few years ago. Used? A grand total of one time.

 

 

 

So, this card is not at all where I had planned on going. But, I am not entirely unhappy with it, either. Other than the markers, the old olive and vey vanilla card stock and the merry from the Tiny Tags set, everything is retired. Well, maybe the brad isn’t. But everything else…totally retired. See, hoarding pays.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leslie (crookedstamper)
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 20:39:54

    YAY for hoarders! Love what you did, and so many people used 1″ circles this week, too!

    Reply

  2. Lisa - papergrace
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 21:02:11

    LOVED your post! 😀 And your card?! LOOOOOOOOOVE! The 1″ circles are awesome! And I adore the sweet little stamped images in each circle. The tiny tag is fab, with the twine and the brad?! oh..oh…ohhhhh AND I love your polka dot background!! 🙂 Wonderful card!!

    Reply

  3. lauren
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 22:45:48

    holy moly YES! hoarding deffffffffinitely pays if this is sort of delightfully fun, charming, clever card that results! i love those sweet little stamps…especially the reindeer! well done you for overcoming obstacles so triumphantly and jingling all the way!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    (ps: i bet you CAN do 3 weeks in a row…and i happen to know the next challenge is a goodie…just sayin…) 🙂

    Reply

  4. SmilynStef
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 00:21:20

    Look at you inking up that set for it’s second use … and how stinkin’ cute are those little inchie circles … way to push through the challenge & get it done girlfriend … love it! … thanks for joining our Jingle Belles fun.

    Reply

  5. Dawn M
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 13:26:57

    Your card is ADORABLE! I love the stamps you used!!

    Reply

  6. Lorraine
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 15:15:01

    I think we Jingle Belles will be dipping into our hoarded supplies many times throughout the year. That’s a good thing! I love your card – great pick for your inchies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

